Power Word: Shield and Grid

v3.2

If you are a discipline priest and Grid user you might find GridStatusShields worth looking at.  I don’t use it myself as i’m not sure how useful the additional information is, but some people like more rather than less.

According the the description is displays an estimate of the amount of Power Word: Shield, Divine Aegis and even Valanyr procs (Blessing of the Ancient Kings – I wish) on the target, within Grid.

I have Grid set up to display a white dot in the top right of the unit frame if the player has the Power Word: Shield buff.  I have Grid display a yellow dot in the same location if the player has the Weakened Sould debuff.  I have the priority of the the PW:S buff set higher than the Weakened Soul debuff so the latter doesn’t display if the player has an active shield.

This means I can tell when the player is shielded, when they are not shielded but have the Weakened Soul debuff and when they have neither.  I’m am unusually clueless when they have a shield (which lasts 30s) but no Weakened soul debuff (which lasts 15s), but this doesn’t seem to be an issue.

If you don’t use Grid or this makes no sense to you, then just nod politely and keep walking :-)

Gobble gobble.

8 Responses to Power Word: Shield and Grid

  1. sparklefreeze says:

    lol, i’ve been using this addon for a while now. Very useful indeed, and since the debuff provides a +heal from talent, it’s worth looking at.

  2. elimeny says:

    That’s really interesting – I would have thought it would be more useful to prioritize the weakened soul debuff over the PW:S buff so that one could make more effective use of Renewed Hope. If you can see that they have weakened soul, then you know that A) You cannot put another shield on them, and B) they will get more benefit from your heals.

    The alternative is that, by prioritizing it your way, you don’t waste shields on those who already have an effective shield on them. Both ways obviously work just fine, but one prioritizes less waste (no wasted shields) over possibly higher heals (if even necessary).

    Just goes to show you, more than one way to skin a cat! Although, I am rather fond of my cat.

  3. BobTurkey says:

    To tell you the truth I don’t care at all about the crit part of Renewed Hope. Same as I don’t really care for Grace. Both are nice bonuses to healing, but not worth actively managing IMHO.

    The shield is important because it actively prevents damage. The healing/crit buffs are not as important because they only slightly increase the effectiveness of something I am going to do anyway (heal the target).

    The Grid information (and UI generally) is for fast decision making so I want to minimise any clutter or low priority information.

    If someone has a shield, casting a new one on them is a low priority as you implied. Occassionaly i’ll cast a new one on a tank that has an existing one, but that rarely happens when the preasure is on and so knowing if its possible visually is not very important. I can always just select the tank to determine that.

    I hope that makes sense.

  4. ankiofdraka says:

    I’ve changed over to using Vuh’do and the way it handles PW shield out of the box is fantastic.

    http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/details/vuhdo.aspx

    It puts up a shield dot, and a slightly larger weakened soul debuff behind it, so both are visible.

    When weakened soul is in it’s last 10 sec, it gives a countdown. Same for shield.

    It doesn’t display the value of the shield but generally I don’t care. I just want to be able to see who’s shielded, who’s got weakened soul, and when each will fall off, and this gives me both at a glance.

  5. ankiofdraka says:

    Side note, the reason I origionally swtiched was because I didn’t like having to run grid, a metric ton of grid addons, and clique. I get everything in vuhdo now, much happier.

  6. xeonio says:

    Yea, I don’t think I’d need a seperate GRID addon to deal with my PW:S. I have it set to show weakened soul as a yellow border around the player. I definitely like to know when I can or can’t shield someone but I use it mainly cuz I like to know when I lose the crit buffage on the MT.

    I hadn’t however considered having it show me if the MT actually has a shield on him or not though. Setting the priority like that is very interesting and I’m gonna try it out tonight. Thx for the tip!

  7. eplandslide says:

    I totally agree with ankiofdraka about VuhDo. I started using it a few days ago and it’s completely changed my life. I turned to it so that I could use click-healing (i use a combo of clickable spells and hotkeys), but the visualization information is great. My overhealing has gone way done, my healing is more efficient, I can plan better… great change for me.

  8. BobTurkey says:

    Yeah i’ve seen VuhDo, but haven’t had the time to play with it yet and Grid works fine. I see its all the rage over at PlusHeal.

    One day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

