Turkelife update

Previously i’ve lamented the uselessness of Penance offensively, but now it is a key part of my soloing rotation. Why?  Well Penance actually does good damage once your spell power get up around 1300 and it’s cheap to cast.  My new soloing rotation is pre-cast PW:S –> pull with Penance –> Holy Fire –> Smite –> Smite –> Wand.  Borrowed Time channels Penance faster and just gives me time to start Holy Fire before it expires.  If I get a critical or two I never reach the wand bit.  I’ve dropped Shadow Word: Pain from the rotation, except against elites, as it was only getting half way through before my target dropped.

Anyway, what has she been up to?  Well over the weekend she pugged Heroic Gundrak and the Shroud of Moobi dropped.  She also pugged Heroic Ahn’kahet, the Old Kingdom and the Skirt of the Old Kingdom dropped.  Last thing Sunday she ran Heroic Nexus with guildies and the War Mace of Unrequited Love dropped again and this time I won the roll.  This is as good as it gets for one handers until we kill Kel’Thuzad in Naxxramas.  I’m not sure if i’m just lucky or something but I seem to have pretty good luck with drops in heroics as I seem to get about one upgrade per run.

I also purchased a couple of upgrades off the AH for about 50g a piece.  These were the Prison Manifest off hand and the Dark Runic Mantle shoulders.

She’s pretty well geared now and many of the slots can only be upgraded in Naxx.  Although i’ll continue to run some heroics for achievements, reputation and emblems she is actually focusing on finishing questing in Zul’Drak, Storm Peaks and Ice Crown.  She is currently saving for her very fast flying mount.  I’ll also raid as time allows (mainly just Friday night ATM).

I finally checked out Beimba as it seems to be all the rage at the moment.  I weigh in at a Beimba of 325.  Not great, but not a waste of space in raids.  There are a couple of sub-par or missing enchants ATM because of the above flurry of upgrades and my gemming is pretty average.

One day i’ll have to get my head around gemming.  Currently I gem by whispering a friendly guildie who is a jeweler and asking them if they have any spell power/int/spirit type gems I can have (I supply enchantments in return so i’m not a complete leech).  This means that I end up with uncommon +7 SP +6 spirit gems mainly.  Better than nothing but not awesome.  I can see which gems would be good for me from LootRank and the like, but how to get from there to actually possessing them is a mystery.  I’ll have to do some research 🙂 I haven’t been too worried because of the rate at which i’ve been upgrading, but now that should be slowing down…

A mystery for another post i’d say.

Game on.

2 Responses to Turkelife update

  1. emptyay says:

    Meh….I come in at a nice, noobish 239.

    Considering I have yet to clear a Heroic, I’d say it’s halfway decent on just crafted items I made to make myself feel better 🙂

    Also, penance got into my solo rotation by just looking so damn cool! I can’t help but channel the circle-pew-pew-pew!! And if the mob isn’t down by the time you’d use wands, I typically throw out a SW:D instead. Saves the time of wand, wand, wand, bleh.

    As for gems…I hit the AH or do the same thing you do…pst my gem-making friends and peddle my enchants till I get a decent gem or two out of the deal.

    Tis the way these things work!

    _Misa

  2. BobTurkey says:

    The wand does more or about the same DPS as SW: Pain im pretty sure. 🙂 It rarely fires more than once or twice and a crit or two with the spells means its unneeded.

    Yeah it occured to me that LootRank had gems down the bottom so I did some research and picked up some Dazzling Forest Emeralds (Int and MP5) and some other straight Int ones (Brilliant something yellow). The Emeralds were only 8g each and the others only about 3g. Almost at 20k unbuffed mana now. Can’t wait until they fix Rapture.

    Gobble gobble.

