Turkelife’s Discipline build for 3.1

v3.1

Either next Wednesday night or perhaps the one following that i’ll be logging on to Turkelife and it will be WoW 3.1.  She will have no talent points spent.  The very first thing she’ll be doing will be spending those points in her main healing spec.  This will be closely followed by forking out 1k for a second spec tab and allocating points in that spec (whatever this is).

Main spec is definently going to remain discipline now.  The second spec is a bit more hazy but probably shadow. However every time I write that part of me thinks I should be trying out this Holy thing, especially Circle of Healing to figure out what makes it so awesome.

So main spec equals Discipline.  Here is what i’m going to be taking talent-wise.

Edit: Thanks to those who noticed the change to Mental Agility.  I’ve updated this now.  That will teach me to write a post like this in advance.

Short version: http://ptr.wowhead.com/?talent=bVcbuhhVRIsffRtoxxc

Long version (with comments): see below

Level 80 Priest (57/14/0)

Discipline (57 points)

Twin Disciplines (5/5)
Increases the damage and healing done by your instant spells by 5%.

Improved Inner Fire (3/3)
Increases the effect of your Inner Fire spell by 45%, and increases the total number of charges by 12.

Improved Power Word: Fortitude (2/2)
Increases the effect of your Power Word: Fortitude and Prayer of Fortitude spells by 30%, and increases your total Stamina by 4%.

4% more Stamina for a talent i’m going to take anyway.  Thats fine by me.

Meditation (3/3)
Allows 50% of your mana regeneration to continue while casting.

This has been discussed to death elsewhere.  Basically bufffed to counter general mana regen nerf.  End result for Disc is no change really.

Inner Focus (1/1)
When activated, reduces the mana cost of your next spell by 100% and increases its critical effect chance by 25% if it is capable of a critical effect.

Improved Power Word: Shield (3/3)
Increases the damage absorbed by your Power Word: Shield by 15%.

Shields are *the thing* in 3.1.  Bigger shields are better shields.

Mental Agility (3/3)
Reduces the mana cost of your instant cast spells by 10%.

Mental Strength (5/5)
Increases your total Intellect by 15%.

Soul Warding (1/1)
Reduces the cool down of your Power Word: Shield ability by 4 sec, and reduces the mana cost of your Power Word: Shield by 30%.

New, only uses 1 point and means more, cheaper shields.  A must have for any Disc build.

Focused Power (2/2)
Increases damage and healing done by your spells by 4%. In addition, your Mass Dispel cast time is reduced by 1 sec.

2% more everything per talent point (max 2).  Very hard to pass up.

Enlightenment (3/3)
Increases your total Spirit by 6% and increases your spell haste by 6%.

Compared to the old version this has more bang for less talent points.  You’d have to be crazy to pass this talent up.

Focused Will (3/3)
Increases your spell critical effect chance by 3%, and after taking a critical hit you gain the Focused Will effect, reducing all damage taken by 4% and increasing healing effects on you by 5%. Stacks up to 3 times. Lasts 8 sec.

This is an optional talent.  1% crit per talent point is pretty normal and this applies to both healing and damage.  At a very high gearing levels you might be able to pass this talent up, but I am yet to see a persuasive argument to not take it.

Power Infusion (1/1)
Infuses the target with power, increasing spell casting speed by 20% and reducing the mana cost of all spells by 20%. Lasts 15 sec.

Finally i’m going to get to play with this toy (my old soloing build had points in Reflective Shield instead).  From what i’ve read this is a nice toy mainly for increasing DPS output.  I’m planning on using it on cool down on a caster DPS, unless the changes to mana management are severe enough to mean I need it on myself.

Improved Flash Heal (3/3)
Reduces the mana cost of your Flash Heal by 15%, and increases the critical effect chance of your Flash Heal by 10% on friendly targets at or below 50% health.

Although I am much less enthusiastic than many bloggers about FH I still use it when Penance is on cool down.  This new talent will help in the situations when i’m chain casting and FH fills the gaps between PW:S, Penance and PoM.

Renewed Hope (2/2)
Increases the critical effect chance of your Flash Heal, Greater Heal and Penance spells by 4% on targets afflicted by the Weakened Soul effect, and you have a 100% chance to reduce all damage taken by 3% for 20 sec to all friendly party and raid targets when you Power Word: Shield a friendly target.

A significant change to the old version of the spell this now grants a raid-wide 3% damage reduction buff.  Given Disc’s regular use of PW:S this is pretty much a passive 3% damage reduction.  You would be hard pressed to argue against taking 2/2 in this talent.

Rapture (3/3)
When your Power Word: Shield is completely absorbed or dispelled you are instantly energized with 2.5% of your total mana, and you have a 100% chance to energize your shielded target with 2% total mana, 8 rage, 16 energy or 32 runic power. This effect cannot occur once every 12 sec.

Rapture is dead! Long live Rapture!  Obviously to anyone who is Disc pre-3.1 this is a big nerf compared to the old version.  The new version is worth about 170 MP5 to a Disc priest with a 20k mana pool and about 125 MP% to one with a 15k mana pool.  Not having used the public test realm (PTR) I am unsure of the usefulness of the energise bit.  If you were only using this on yourself the 2% total mana return is worth about 140 MP5 with a 20k mana pool.  Still well worth the 3 talent points for aiding mana return.

Aspiration (2/2)
Reduces the cool down of your Inner Focus, Power Infusion, Pain Suppression and Penance spells by 20%.

I have seen Disc builds excluding this talent.  Personally this is a must have talent for the 2s reduction on Penance cool down if nothing else.

Divine Aegis (3/3)

Critical heals create a protective shield on the target, absorbing 30% of the amount healed. Lasts 12 sec.

Now stacking up to 10k this is a nice buff and another incentive to aim for 20%+ unbuffed crit. Also a must have for disc.

Grace (2/2)
Your Flash Heal, Greater Heal, and Penance spells have a 100% chance to bless the target with Grace, increasing all healing received from the Priest by 3%. This effect will stack up to 3 times. Effect lasts 15 sec. Grace can only be active on one target at a time.

Another nerfed talent.  The single target only restriction is a major downside unless you are only ever tank healing.  This is an optional talent for me.

Pain Suppression (1/1)
Instantly reduces a friendly target’s threat by 5%, reduces all damage taken by 40% and increases resistance to Dispel mechanics by 65% for 8 sec.

A must have talent for a raiding Disc priest.  If you are not raiding this is probably optional.

Borrowed Time (5/5)
Grants 25% spell haste for your next spell after casting Power Word: Shield, and increases the amount absorbed by your Power Word: Shield equal to 40% of your spell power.

Buffed by association.  What I mean by this is that post-3.1 PW:S will get a lot more use in most situations meaning this talent will trigger a lot more frequently.  I’m expecting to have this buff up for something like 50% of my FH and PoH casts.

Penance (1/1)
Launches a volley of holy light at the target, causing 375 Holy damage to an enemy, or 1484 to 1676 healing to an ally every 1 sec for 2 sec.

Defining talent of the spec.  A must have.  Penance has lost it’s crazy mana efficiency with the Rapture nerf, but has gained from both the Glyph of Penance cool down reduction (assuming that makes it live) and from stacking Divine Aegis buffs.

Holy (14 points)

For the time being i’m sticking with the traditional points in Holy to reach Inspiration.  I’m yet to see a persuasive argument for doing otherwise.

Holy Specialization (5/5)
Increases the critical effect chance of your Holy spells by 5%.

Strongly recommended.  5% healing crit is 5% healing crit no matter which way you look at it.  Only very highly geared players should consider not taking it and the alternatives are pretty limited.

Divine Fury (5/5)
Reduces the casting time of your Smite, Holy Fire, Heal and Greater Heal spells by 0.5 sec.

Optional.  I include it because I have to take something to reach tier 3 talents and I don’t like the other options any better.  I also DPS in Disc spec for parts of some fight (for example some stages of Noth and a good chunk of Loatheb) and this reduces the cast time of two of my main offensive spells.  I also occasionally use Greater Heal, especially in heroics, which this talent also benefits.

Inspiration (3/3)
Increases your target’s armor by 25% for 15 sec after getting a critical effect from your Flash Heal, Heal, Greater Heal, Binding Heal, Penance, Prayer of Healing, or Circle of Healing spell.

Strongly recommended.  Another passive effect which triggers off a lot of spells and reduces damage taken.  I’ve got on my to-do list a post about the effectiveness of this talent.

Healing Focus (1/2)
Reduces the pushback suffered from damaging attacks while casting any healing spell by 35%.

There is a single spare point in this build which I have put into Healing Focus.  Alternatively you might find Desperate Prayer useful.

Discipline Glyphs

Glyph of Penance (Maj)
Pretty much mandatory assuming it makes it to the live servers.  Reducing the cool down of our best spell by 25% to 6s is very powerful.

Glyph of PW:S (Maj)
For 20% more from PW:S.  I strongly recommend this glyph.

Glyph of PoH (Maj)
Thats right, Glyph of PoH not Glyph of FH.  Three reasons for this.

1) With the reduced cool downs on PW:S and especially Penance (glyphed) I will using using FH less than I currently do.

2) Despite the mana regen and Rapture nerfs i’m still not expecting significant mana issues as Disc.

3) Regardless of assignment Disc priests have to raid heal sometimes to prevent wipes.  I’m thinking Loatheb, the end of phase 1 on Gothik, post Decimate on Gluth for starters.  PoH is our main (only) AoE healing spell (PoM is kinda in there along with Divine Hymn).  When I need AoE healing I need every ounce of throughput I can get.  And additonal 20% on PoH is almost always more useful to me than 10% cheaper Flash Heals.

+Glyph of Levitate (Min)
+Glyph of Shadow Protection (Min)
+Glyph of Fortitude (Min)

Phew! Done.  I probably should have squeezed a couple of posts out of this but I wanted to get it all out in one go.  I hope this enlightens you.

Gobble gobble.

15 Responses to Turkelife’s Discipline build for 3.1

  1. xeonio says:

    I like how you broke down the post and gave your thoughts about choices on certain talents. A very informative post, thank you for sharing it.

  2. elyxaar says:

    Mental Agility (5/5)
    Reduces the mana cost of your instant cast spells by 10%.

    … Isn’t MA only 3 point talent now? So you would have 2 points spare in that build of yours.

    I’ll probably go with a build very similar to yours although I have considered going down to Improved Healing in Holy for 15% off Penance’s mana cost *shrug*

  3. wantedpriest says:

    Yeah, the required level for the spec you posted is only 78, so 2 more points to spend!

    I am going to run a very similar build, but swapping your 3 points in Focused Will for 3 in Silent Resolve. I know tanks are holding aggro much better these days, but I just can’t bring myself to give up that threat reduction. (I do enough freelance healing that Silent Resolve is almost a necessity.)

    I am using the 2 remaining points to fully talent Grace and to pick up Desperate Prayer.

    And I completely agree with you on the glyphs.

    I guess brilliant minds do think alike.

    Vess

  4. […] Vess’ Disc Spec v3.1 Posted April 10, 2009 Filed under: Spec | BobTurkey has put up a great post revealing the logic behind his disc spec choices once Patch 3.1 hits.  Article is here. […]

  5. Fear.Win says:

    Swapping mains over to my Warlock, I’m definitely considering using my Priest as a healer instead of a face melter in 3.1. I’d probably main spec as Disc if the need for a single target healer arises and dual spec Holy if we need to fill an AoE healer position.

    I still love me some shadow DPS but having 2 DPS casters at 80 doesn’t make a lot of sense, so I’ll probably bite the bullet.

    Definitely bookmarking this. Great post.

  6. […] (firewalled FTL) so if anyone wants to recommend a few, go for it. I’ve already bookmarked BobTurkey’s excellent 3.1 Disc rundown and have a few other healing blogs on my Blogroll, but any others you could recommend would be […]

  7. Khaeli says:

    Good run down. I’ll be sticking with the Flash Heal glyph as my guild already has plenty of AOE healers. While I do look forward to POH being castable on a group, I won’t be in a position to be using it often enough to glyph for it. Flash Heal will surely remain my #1 spell.

    I find it irritating that while Shadow and Holy Priests both get nice talents from the first couple of tiers of Disc, that Disc priests are stuck with crappy choices for their 2nd tree. QQ

  8. BobTurkey says:

    @xeonio, Fear.Win and Khaeli – thanks, my ego loves you.

    @elyxaar and others – yeah I wrote this a few weeks back. I re-read it and checked grammer/spelling but forgot to double check the talents.

    @wantedpriest – With the current way Fade is the times i’m pulling agro I usually manage ok with a Fade/Psychic Scream macro. I was a long time fan of Silent Resolve too.

  9. emptyay says:

    Wow…wonderful post. I’ll certainly be revising my spec a bit when I go back to Disc after 3.1 hits.

    Thanks!

    _Misa

  10. sparklefreeze says:

    I’ve a similar build to yours there but skipped on Focused Will as I’m running with 25% crit unbuffed already. Had to put a point in Silent Resolve to push to the 3rd tier but oh wells, lower threat is always good. In the end, I found that 55 points in Disc pretty much covered everything I needed.

    About that 1 point in Healing Focus, I thought that Imp. Renew might serve us better since I don’t often lack a Paly for conc aura.

    Gylphs-wise, I’m sticking to FH over PoH coz I’ve always found the latter inefficient mana : HPS though the gylphed has a nice HoT.

    All in all, Disc tree looks really good compared to Holy atm.. I’m just waiting for servers to come live and get to a heroic for testing!

  11. sparklefreeze says:

    Oh lol, after rechecking my specc, I realised I must have clicked too fast. That point in Silent Resolve is unnecessary. I’ll prolly throw it in Imp. Healing or Focused Will now. Desperate Prayer is obselete now that Penance is on self-cast. ^^

  12. BobTurkey says:

    Yeah I never got into Desperate Prayer. Plenty of other self healing options without adding yet another healing spell to my bar.

    I wonder what the Penance animation is like when self-casting. I guess i’ll know soon.

  13. myrwhydden says:

    Thanks for sharing. This is the PvP version: http://www.wowhead.com/?talent#bxcbuuGiRIocfRtf0th:oATVMm

    I didn’t put any points into Silent Resolve cause im assuming “the true healing role” (especially in arena), so i’m not worried about my dots being dispelled. The only thing I miss is all 3 points into Absolution, but with decent mana regen, I guess it won’t be a problem.

    Also here it is my Shadow PvP build: http://www.wowhead.com/?talent#bxI0u0MZZ0xfwRfkrfqbkAo:oMqV0m so far is kicking ass!!
    Well that’s all…

    Have fun..

  14. rawne says:

    Very good post. I like the discipline side of the spec, but i go a little different on the holy side.

    2/2 Healing Focus – Useful, need the points

    3/3 Improved Renew – I have renew up pretty much all the time on me, my partner, and anyone in a BG in need of heals. I like to pair this with a Glyph of Renew, makes for intense renew heals =)

    5/5 Spell Warding – For the survivability, I like to have the time to spare against casters. I don’t have Divine Fury because I am rarely in need of a massive heal outside of my penance cooldowns.

    3/3 Inspiration – Armor is nice for FCs and whatnot.

    1/1 Desperate Prayer – I use this all the time, it is such a time saver. It’s instant cast, and i don’t need to target myself at all.

    I’ve thought about going for Holy Specialization, possibly losing MA and Concentration, but I don’t like to rely on crits, I like to stack SP and time-savers so i can be consistent, not lucky.

