Priest Theorycrafting – Introduction (Part 1)

v3.1

  1. Introduction
  2. Mana regeneration
  3. Mana pool
  4. Haste rating
  5. Critical rating
  6. Summary

It happened. I think I’m a theorycrafter now. Do I get an achievement for that?

This started out as a little project to calculate the effect of the outside-five-second-rule nerf that happened with 3.1 and snowballed into this wall of text. It ended up being a complete reworking of DwarfPriest’s excellent post from pre-3.0.2 regarding gear stat weightings. These posts also contain some potentially useful information on calculating the value of some of the new priest talents, such as the reworked Rapture. I’ll post this in parts and then link to them permanently from Priestly Resources in the navigation above.

This tome is aimed at healing priests of both flavours. If you are interested in math and theory crafting there will be heaps of text for you to scrutinise and offer constructive criticism on. If you don’t care for that sort of stuff here are a pair of links to gear lists using the numbers I have learned:

The basic premise of these weightings is attempting to equate all gear stats relative to MP5. So 1 MP5 = 1 MP5, but how much MP5 is 1 haste rating worth?

Assumptions

As always when creating my model I needed to make a number of assumptions. I will mention these again, where relevant in each section, but I will cover the bigger ones here at the onset.

  • Mana regeneration is based on the caster spending 80% 90% of their fight time inside the 5 second rule.
  • Stats, where required, are based on Turkelife’s current stats at time of writing. This is about a T7.5 gearing level:
    • Discipline
      • Intellect 1092.5 (950 base + 15% for Mental Strength)
      • Spirit 795 (750 base +6% for Enlightenment)
      • Spell power 1950
    • Holy
      • Intellect 950
      • Spirit 787.5 (750 base +5% for Spirit of Redemption)
      • Spell power 2146.875 (1950 base + 25% of spirit)
  • Fight length is 6 minutes (360 seconds)
  • Flash Heal is used whenever the spell cast is required
  • Spell power co-efficient 80.86%
  • Base heal is 1887
  • Mana cost 621 (assuming talents and glyphs)
  • Over-healing is assumed to be a flat 30%

I have ignored raid buffs generally, so you won’t see mentions of Blessing of Kings and the like. The reason for this is that, even though they do affect the weightings they are confounded within the general interaction of stats and talents. After the initial regurgitation of information I will look at some different gearing levels and how these affect the weightings. I’ll chuck some raid buffs in there.

I’m sure that I have made at least one error with my calculations (I found a few just writing these posts), so please let me know of any you notice.

10 Responses to Priest Theorycrafting – Introduction (Part 1)

  1. xeonio says:

    The lootrank that is linked, is that your final weightings and the posts are just explaining how you got to those numbers?

    I’m a bit surprised by the difference in your numbers versus some others I’ve found but I like yours a lot more. Weighing things based on longevity rather than throughput. If I’m OOM I can’t heal and if I have extra mana then I can spend more to help out where others are struggling.

    The only weight I don’t agree with though is the stamina weighting. Very few fights have ever required us to put on a set of stamina gear (Naj’entus being the only ones that come to mind). Yes, if I’m dead I can’t heal but its not like TBC when people were wearing Moonshroud. It comes on all our gear naturally now.

  2. xeonio says:

    I meant the Primal Mooncloth set, not Moonshroud.

  3. […] and lots of arguments on how best to gear for your main spec (check out my thoughts on the matter,¬†BobTurkey’s post on priest theorycrafting, Xeonio’s thoughts on stat weights, unholy holy’s […]

  4. BobTurkey says:

    @xeonio – Yes I linked the LootRank straight up so peoplem didn’t have to wait a week for all the posts to go up. The posts are the details so others can follow what I did and perhaps us it in future.

    I was quite surprised about a number of things like the big difference between Disc/Holy for spirit. Not that there was a difference, but just how big it was.

    Some of my early investigation of gearing resulted in Spellweave Robe, which has zero stamina, being best in slot (no itemisation “wasted” on stamina). I wasn’t comfortable with that so the stamina weighting was added. It leaves you basically aiming at building gear sets without stamina.

    Even pre-Uldar there are many fights where healers are taking some damage. If you can’t survive the hit you can’t heal anyone.

    Gobble gobble.

  5. xeonio says:

    RE: Big thanks for the info and the math you went through to get all this information. I’m using your numbers to update my Discipline Gear list.

    Thanks
    -Xeonio

  6. obichad says:

    Very interested to see where this goes. I took DP’s number and modified them a while back to my tastes and just went through updating them for 3.1 so I’m curious to see someone else’s take on it.

    Agreed about stamina, I don’t like rating it, but giving it no rating can sometimes leave you in a bad position. To me it’s about making the weighting sufficiently small to not throw anything else off, but still greater than 0. I usually go with half of the lowest stat I care about.

  7. BobTurkey says:

    @obichad – yeah stamina is small but not insignificant.

  8. xeonio says:

    Heya Bob, I didn’t see a ‘contact me’ button so just gonna post it here.

    Do you have any plans of reworking the math now to get a jumpstart on the 3.2 changes? I realize items with mp5 getting increased won’t effect ur math but the changes to Replenishment…

    Now gives 1% of your max mana every 5 seconds instead of the .25% of your mana mana every second.

    I was curious if you are gonna get a jump start on changing the math or giving corrections to it?

  9. BobTurkey says:

    I’ve actually been thinking I should set up a Hotmail account or something for “contact me” as there isn’t one ATM.

    Yes i’ll probably update these for 3.2, but i’ll wait for near to the patch going live as it will probably change. So far the changes are very minor.

    The Replenishment change is pretty minor in the grand scheme of things too. It will slightly reduce the value of Intellect for both priest healing specs. But not much.

  10. […] still, someone far smarter than us did it better […]

