Healing priest enchants for 3.2

v3.2

hanzi23 brought to my attention how outdated some of my opinions are on enchants.  So in an effort to rectify that I discovered a personal need to publish my suggested enchants for 3.2.  So without further addo:

These are all based on T8+ priests gearing for spell power and where relevant I used my 3.2 priest stat weightings.  Hmm, discovered I actually hadn’t posted about priest enchants before.  Silly me.

Gobble gobble.

10 Responses to Healing priest enchants for 3.2

  1. discpriest123 says:

    Great suggestions overall. I’d just add the possibility of using Arcanum of Burning Mysteries for the hat slot. It has 30 spell power and 20 critical strike rating. It can be a nice alternative to the mp5 version, just like the alternate shoulder slot enchants, depending on how you comparatively value throughput vs. longevity.

  2. BobTurkey says:

    Yeah i realised about that one when I was enchanting my new hat recently, but i’ve been too lazy to put it up. Guess i’d better now 😉

  3. Tamarind says:

    Oh my God, I have serious endgame syndrome. I actually read through this carefully, stroked my chin, nodded intelligently and *took notes*. Thanks for putting this together. Very useful!

    (wah! I am hemorrhaging frivolity!)

  4. BobTurkey says:

    Watch out Tamarind, i think this theory crafting/min-maxing gearing thing might be contagious.

    Gobble gobble.

  5. hanzi23 says:

    It is contagious…

    For those who do not need regen stats and don’t care about spirit or tuskarr’s vitality for your boots enchant, the Icewalker enchant is also a good choice. Though designed for DPS wit the +hit stats, the +12 crit is nice; many priests have this enchant.

    When it comes to Ulduar and now the Coliseum, regen is almost a non factor if you play your priest correctly and if you’re teamed with good healers. That’s why the enchants spellpower/crit on the shoulders and head pieces are the way to go.

    As for the meta 21 int/+mana, it can be replaced by the 25 spellpower/2% intel. It is a personal preference and you should stick to the first one, if you’re spending more mana than required.

  6. BobTurkey says:

    @hanzi23 – re:meta gems – you might like to read this post https://bobturkey.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/insightful-earthsiege-vs-ember-skyflare-diamond/

    The 25 spell power is nice, but i’d want to be supremely confident about mana regen before dropping the insightful earthsiege.

    In some 25 man raids, where i’m chain casting pw:s almost continuously, and in some hard mode 10 mans where i’m using PoH more i’m still getting low on mana sometimes.

  7. kwilliam71 says:

    Not sure how the stats bake up but I would think the engineering back enchant [Springy Arachnoweave] for 27 SP would be a preferred choice if you’re an engineer? http://www.wowhead.com/?spell=63765

  8. BobTurkey says:

    @kwilliam – I must admit I know very little about engineering. A +27 SP enchant to back would be better for engineers than the standard haste one for sure.

    Lightweave > Springy Arachnoweave > Greater Speed.

  9. lothlorien2 says:

    Along the same lines as the above question – the engineering enchant for boots “Nitro Boosts” (http://www.wowhead.com/?spell=55016) increases critical strike rating by 24. On a pure stat weighing basis would this be superior to spirit on boots?

  10. BobTurkey says:

    You guys ask all the hard questions!

    The +24 crit strike is better than spirit for Discipline priests, but not for Holy priests.

