Shadow priesting (ramble)

v3.2

A few weeks back I was bored with healing and I was considering alts and other distractions.  Like most players I have limited play time and I have already invested a lot into my priest, so i’m a little loath to ‘waste’ time on alts.  Strange how the mind works sometimes.


I do want to get my 80 protection warrior defence capped to add more options to my play and for tanking in-guild.  Even if it’s just for heroics.  I also have the vague idea about leveling my druid past 38 and making that my new main sometime, perhaps for 4.0.  Some day…

So anyway to mix it up on my priest I swapped my dual spec from holy back to shadow.  My guild has a lot of holy priests and really only one other priest whose off spec is discipline.  Also with the way raiding is going it seems more and more that having a healing role and a DPS role is more useful than two healing specs.  So shadow it is.

I’ve said for the longest time that soloing as discipline is viable and no issue, but I must admit I am pretty much always shadow spec when soloing now.  It’s just so much easier!  Everything dies so much faster.  It sounds obvious but as a die hard healer-for-life I had forgotten how much easier it is to be DPS spec when soloing.

We already have a great raiding shadow priest so I asked him for advice.  Mainly this came about because tracking DoTs is not something i’m used to.  Initially I set up Power Auras Classic to let me know when my target didn’t have my various DoTs, but that didn’t seem to be enough information.  So I asked our shadow priest what he used for tracking his DoTs and amazingly his answer was nothing!  He just uses the default interface.  I was amazed as I love add-ons but he does a good job so I guess its works for him.

So I added more auras to Power Auras Classic, so that now it displays a timer in seconds with the remaining duration of my DoTs or a big coloured star if its missing.  All the auras are colour coded to make things easier.  Green for Vampiric Embrace, blue for Vampiric Touch, purple for Devouring Plague and orange for Shadow Word: Pain.  I must remember to take a screen shot and post it sometime.  Perhaps a post with a SS and the syntax for the auras.  Have I mentioned I love Power Auras Classic yet this post?

This shadow priesting thing is quite fun for a change.  I even managed to DPS Faction Champions and Twin Val’kyrs in 25 man.  Faction Champions is such a different fight as shadow.  Discipline is Mass Dispels, some healing and a lot of kiting to try and stay alive.  Shadow is mainly standing still killing whomever is the current target.  Warrior gets interested in you?  Dispersion easily sees them off (and regens the tiny amount of mana shadow priests seem to use).  The end of this fight as discipline is usually, “OMG! Thank god thats finished!”.  Shadow was more, “oh they’re all dead already?”

As mentioned above soloing is dead easy with everything dying fast.  Even the hard bosses die fast and Vampiric Embrace, which heals about 1k healing per second, easily keeps you alive.  Well except one dragon boss in Ashenvale who I was merrily killing before they summoned about 10 copies of themselves and proceeded to completely own my arse.

Anyway part of the point of this rambling post was this new blog: http://nerfdruids.wordpress.com/ Strange domain name, and its called ‘A Priest Blog’, but its got some great posts about raiding as shadow.  Check it out.  S/he posted recently about stat weights for shadow priests and Pawn and as you know i’m a fan of both.

Gobble gobble.

Shadow priesting (ramble)

v3.2

A few weeks back I was bored with healing and I was considering alts and other distractions.  Like most players I have limited play

time and I have already invested a lot into my priest, so i’m a little loath to ‘waste’ time on alts.  Strange how the mind works

sometimes.

[more]

I do want to get my 80 protection warrior defence capped to add more options to my play and for tanking in-guild.  Even if its just

for heroics.  I also have the vague idea about leveling my druid past 38 and making that my new main sometime, perhaps for 4.0.

Some day…

So anyway to mix it up on my priest I swapped my dual spec from holy back to shadow.  My guild has a lot of holy priests and really

only one other priest whose off spec is Discipline.  Also with the way raiding is going it seems more and more that having a healing

role and a DPS role is more useful than two healing specs.  So shadow it is.

I’ve said for the longest time that soloing as discipline is viable and no issue, but I must admit I am pretty much always shadow

spec when soloing now.  Its just so much easier!  Everything dies so much faster.  It sounds obvious but as a die hard

healer-for-life I had forgotten how much easier it is to be DPS spec when soloing.

We already have a great raiding shadow priest so I asked him for advice.  Mainly this came about because tracking DoTs is not

something i’m used to.  Initially I set up Power Auras Classic [LINK] to let me know when my target didn’t have my various DoTs, but

that didn’t seem to be enough information.  So I asked our shadow priest what he used for tracking his DoTs and amazingly his answer

was nothing!  He just uses the default interface.  I was amazed as I love add-ons but he does a good job so I guess its works for

him.

So I added more auras to Power Auras Classic, so that now it displays a timer in seconds with the remaining duration of my DoTs or a

big coloured star if its missing.  All the auras are colour coded to make things easier.  Green for Vampiric Embrace, blue for

Vampiric Touch, purple for Devouring Plague and orange for Shadow Word: Pain.  I must remember to take a screen shot and post it

sometime.  Perhaps a post with a SS and the syntax for the auras.  Have I mentioned I love Power Auras Classic yet this post?

This shadow priesting thing is quite fun for a change.  I even managed to DPS Faction Champions and Twin Val’kyrs in 25 man.

Faction Champions is such a different fight as shadow.  Discipline is Mass Dispels, some healing and a lot of kiting to try and stay

alive.  Shadow is mainly standing still killing whomever is the current target.  Warrior gets interested in you?  Dispersion easily

sees them off (and regens the tiny amount of mana shadow priests seem to use).  The end of this fight as discipline is usually, “OMG! Thank god thats finished!”.  Shadow was more, “oh they’re all dead already?”

As mentioned above soloing is dead easy with everything dying fast.  Even the hard bosses die fast and Vampiric Embrace, which heals

about 1k healing per second, easily keeps you alive.  Well except one dragon boss in Ashenvale who I was merrily killing before they

summoned about 10 copies of themselves and proceeded to completely own my arse.

Anyway part of the point of this rambling post was this new blog: http://nerfdruids.wordpress.com/

[http://nerfdruids.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/shadow-priest-buffs-simple-math-to-work-out-how-good-your-gear-is/] Strange domain name,

and its called ‘A Priest Blog’, but its got some great posts about raiding as shadow.  Check it out.  S/he posted recently about

stat weights for shadow priests and Pawn [LINK] and as you know i’m a fan of both.

5 Responses to Shadow priesting (ramble)

  1. Fa says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Bob!
    As far as tracking dots (and other stuff), I can’t recommend Forte Exorcist enough.

    -Fa / Normacho
    http://nerfdruids.wordpress.com

  2. Lynessa says:

    Hey Bob!
    Cheers for the shoutout and glad you enjoyed the blog!

    As for DoT Tracking I use Classtimers in my UI (That I was going to cover in a post in the near future!) but as Fa also said Forte Exorcist works just as well if not better.

    -Chris / Lynessa

  3. BobTurkey says:

    No worries Fa/Normacho/Chris/Lynessa :-)

    Thanks for the DoT timer tips

    Gobble gobble.

  4. Abi says:

    Hands down, ForteXorcist is my favorite DoT timer for any class that has dots or debuffs of any kind. It tracks beneficial debuffs put on your current target by OTHER players (i.e. curse of elements, earth and moon, etc.) and tracks your DoTs as well. It also has indications of when that DoT will tick just incase you’re forced to clip it for some reason.

    I was a DoTimer advocate for awhile now but ForteXorcist is the new sheriff in town for me.

  5. Abi says:

    Oh, and it also tracks dots you put on all targets, not just your current target. I failed to mention that and GG of course since comments don’t have edit buttons =X.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

