Webring of Healings

v3.2

Miss Medicina has set the healing blog ‘community’ alight with her meme-thingy.  I’m way late to the party but it looks like fun so here’s my contribution.


What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

Turkelife, Priest, Discipline

What is your primary group healing environment?

25 mans > 10 mans = heroics

What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

Prayer of Mending – the holy frisbee rocks!  There is no other mechanic in the game like it.  Its also cheap, instant and heals for a lot in many situations.

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Lesser Heal.  Umm, what was the point of this spell again?

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

Lots of tools to be flexible when healing.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

Some remaining misconceptions about what discipline spec priests do.  Often by discipline priests themselves.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

Raid healing.  Tank healing is to restrictive.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

I like to heal with Druids – strong HoTs, battle rez, and I like to hug trees (and crit-chickens).

What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

Other discipline priests.  I find it very hard not to snipe their shields, unless they are very good at maintaining them on their assignments.

What is your worst habit as a healer?

Letting myself die in 5 mans, because i’m healing with party frames and don’t notice i’m dying.  Also see sniping shields above.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

So many to choose from.   People rushing to pull before the group is ready resulting in a wipe.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

Yep.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

Grid.  If no one is dead i’ve done fine.  Chat.  People offering positive feedback.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

Discipline priests should be healing as much as the other healing classes.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

I’ll swap ‘class’ for ‘spec’ and say for new discipline spec priests they have the hardest time understanding that Power Word: Shield is their main healing weapon.

If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

No idea.  I’ve never looked at healing done via Recount.  Actually thats not true I can guess that they would see low healing output as I heal very little compared to most healers.

Haste or Crit and why?

Crit all the way.  Divine Aegis bubbles and haste is over-rated in 3.2 IMHO.

What healing class do you feel you understand least?

Resto shaman.  I’ve played one and I just don’t get them.  They seem so clunky compared to discipline priests.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

Grid and mouse-over macros mainly.  I used to use and love Decursive, but tis now part of my Grid/mouse-over setup.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

I’m mainly stacking spell power, intellect and crit rating.  Why?  Well I did some maths and it told me too 🙂

Done!

I’m going to skip the chain letter bit as i’m a bit late to the party and i’m sure everyone has done this already.

Edit:  By gross oversight I missed my most angry reader Hikari, so without further ado I nominate Lowered Expectations to join the party.

Nice meme Miss Medicina and congratulations on the instant popularity 😉

10 Responses to Webring of Healings

  1. Abi says:

    I had a lot of fun answering this as well. I totally agree with the misconception that Disc Priests should be healing just as much as everyone else. It’s about damage prevention and mitigation while maintaining effective healing to the best of your ability, not spamming the biggest and best AoE heals non stop and topping overheals.

    There is an add-on for reacount (the name escapes me) that actually calculates absorbs as well which our Disc Priest uses. Maybe look in to that just to show off how much damage you’re preventing =).

  2. BobTurkey says:

    Heh heh. Actually I might link and discuss a World of Logs analysis sometime on this blog. Then I can comment on how a discipline priest actually does, when compared to other healers, on some of the fights.

    Personally I’ve never ever had an issue with anyone making comments about my healing volume. I don’t know if its the server or something but logs don’t seem to be as important to guilds on my server as they appear to be on other bloggers. So i’ve never really had to fight that battle.

  3. elimeny says:

    Oooo I was hoping you would join in as soon as you were back from vacation!

    And yes, the popularity of it hit me like a ton of bricks. It was definitely more than I prepared myself for! On the plus side, I have a lot of new readers, and thus more feedback when I have questions, and want input from others.

  4. elimeny says:

    Oh, and I believe the add-on to which Abi is referring is called Recount Guessed Absorbs. It’s better than nothing >shrug<

  5. Hikari says:

    You could make me answer it! /gasp

  6. BobTurkey says:

    @elimeny – Yeah I picked up about 1k readers when wowinsider linked me, which is always nice.

    @Hikari – Sorry I was too lazy to see if any of my favourite blogs hadn’t done it yet. So I choose you! 😛 I’ll update the post.

  7. Christine says:

    Never too late to answer! XD yay you did it! lolx

  8. Nizara says:

    BT, I’m looking forward to the World of Logs analysis and your opinion on it all. 🙂

  9. BobTurkey says:

    @Nizara – Cool. Its on the TODO list now.

  10. ostrov says:

    Thank you,
    very interesting article